Transgenderism Encourages Rigid Gender Stereotypes

This is what I’m always on about. The problem with gender identity is that it’s largely based on a social construct of what it means to be “male” or “female”.  If I am biologically male but I believe my gender is female, what is it about me that makes me feel female on the inside? What defines the difference between feeling male and feeling female?

Much of it, I am convinced, relies on what society tells us are the requirements to be male or female. Look at those gender identity tests such as COGIATI and SAGE, which ask you a series of questions about your personality traits and abilities to score how masculine or feminine you are. Answer with too many “girly” answers, and you’ll be told that you are a good candidate for hormone replacement therapy (HRT) with or without sex reassignment surgery (SRS).

So these tests, and others like them, assume that if you are good at math you have the mind of a boy; if you are good at reading facial expressions you have the mind of a girl. I have battled this for years, almost believing it when I was younger and let other people tell me what to think. I like to wear dresses; I tend to be more nurturing and sympathetic than my male friends; I cry more easily; I prefer games and leisure activities that involve the mind more than the physical body (i.e. roleplaying games and puzzles). I even enjoy singing show tunes. To this day people in the transgender community tell me I’m just denying the truth that I am transgender, that I must have a strong inner desire to be a woman, that I’d be so much happier if I’d admit that I’m really a girl and go all the way with surgery.

To them I say, poppycock. I love being a man. There is nothing about my nonstandard traits that says by law I must be a woman. What kind of backward century do we live in where men and women are forced into rigidly defined rules for how they must behave?

So I can fully sympathize (another “females only” trait) with this young lady who is perfectly happy being the girl she was born as, who happens to choose doing things that society insists are activities for boys. You go, girl!

Lisa Selin Davis: My Daughter Is Not Transgender, She’s A Tomboy

About Ralph

Male. Straight. Married.
This entry was posted in psychology, transgender. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Transgenderism Encourages Rigid Gender Stereotypes

  1. Joanna says:

    completely agree and disagree Ralph. There is gender non conformance and then there is gender dysphoria. People with very strong gender dysphoria are not interested in being men in dresses or women in men’s clothes, they feel strongly that they are the opposite gender. So we confuse the two and maybe misdiagnose a young tomboyish girl with being transgender.
    As a strongly dysphoric person myself I am not interested in blending genders and my mind goes towards being a woman which is something I have struggled with my whole life. This as opposed to someone who just wants to challenge gender norms. Again, not the same thing at all.

    Peace,
    Joanna

  2. Ralph says:

    Thanks for the insight, Joanna, and I apologize if my tone came across as claiming that there is no such thing as gender dysphoria.

    What I was getting at — and you can give us (all two readers of this blog 🙂 ) firsthand experience — is wondering what it is about “being female” that defines the gender, outside of physical characteristics? When you say your mind goes towards being a woman, how does that differ from the mind of a man?

    Let me stress that I am not being sarcastic or condescending; at least that’s not how I intend my questions to sound. This is a world I know absolutely nothing about and wish to understand better.

  3. Joanna says:

    I wish i could answer that question conclusively Ralph because I hsve been trying all my life, however at its most basic level it is feeling feminine versus feeling masculine. Although even there we know men and women who buck that trend and they feel fine within the confines of their gender roles. You could also think of it this way: imagine a woman whose rights to express herself as a woman was entirely removed and she was obliged to express herself as a man. What would be her degree of despondency and discomfort? I think this is part of the essence of gender and likely rooted in the part that is biological instead of society driven.

    Think of the case of David Reimer raised as a girl from birth and when he found out he was a boy immediately reverted to living as one. That is core gender.

Leave a Reply

